Highway to The Danger Zone

run1

 

On Jan. 1 I started my two-month virtual journey from California’s East Bay Area toward Springfield, Missouri. This 1,885 mile trip would be split between myself and a friend in Springfield making her way here virtually. That’s 942.5 miles each or roughly 16 miles a day. The rules are that we can use any form of exercise to log the miles- running, walking, biking, elliptical, crawling, etc. After nearly four days, I have logged just over 60 miles putting me in a city very familiar to me, Stockton. Four-time winner of the Most Miserable Place in America to Live, Stockton is known for its high crime, unemployment and foreclosure rates, its city streets ravaged daily by gunshots from rival gangs. For two and a half years I worked right in the heart of Stockton, never knowing quite how scared to be when my employer was on lockdown due to nearby gunshots, signifying someone had either gotten very lucky or very murdered. I often wondered what I would do if a criminal got into the building during a lockdown. You know how people say you don’t know what you will do until you are actually in a situation? I know. While I’d like to say that I’d be like this:

fd1

 

I know I’d be more like this:

guyhide

So yeah, while I’m moving through Stockton, I think I’m gonna pick up the pace just a little.

 

 

 

About amber111780

I'm a writer-turned-business owner looking to quell my literary urges while drumming up motivation for my fitness goals by writing about them every chance I get. Every chance that I'm not working, gulping diet soda by the liter, working out, and eating my weight in Sour Patch Kids.
This entry was posted in Weight Loss and Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Highway to The Danger Zone

  1. Ann says:

    15 miles per day, pretty good babe !

Leave a Reply

